Assignment #3

Assignment #3 was hyperfocus. Meaning everything in the image, foreground, middleground, and background should be in focus. To achieve this you want to close down your aperature (I used an f-stop of 22) and a decent shutter speed. If you know a little about photography and shooting in manual you know that when you close down your aperature you need to slow your shutter to allow the correct amount of light to hit your sensor. Unfortunately the two weeks we were given for this assignment it was drizzling and overcast the entire time, so it was a challenge for us all. 

I stared by going up to salmon river falls and walking the gorge trail. I wanted to get a long shot of the river o show depth. Here’s the shot I ended up using. 

Originally the rock in the foreground was too dark, so I dodged it on a layer mask. I also lightened the trees on the right and darkened the trees on the left to make them more uniform. The sunlight was a little harsh and I didn’t get high enough to really get a good amount of river, it looks like just rocks but it is river. I shot this image from down low. As you can see even the trees in the far back are sharp, making it hyperfocused. 

Unfortunately I didn’t like any of the others from shooting the river, so on another day I went to an abandoned North Country near where I live and tried to get some depth in there too. This was the first one I turned in. It looked a little gray under the flourescent lights so I had to bump up the contrast a bit. 


I had to bump up the contrast a bit on this one too but I really like the way it turned out. I was a little nervous having the telephone pole cutting the image but I decided that it’s not too much of a distraction and I rolled with it. 

Light was a challenge in this assignment because of the weather and needin a small aperature for the focus. As well as finding a space deep enough to properly show the hyperfocus of the photos. There aren’t too many places near me that have something interesting in the foreground and background and a big enough space separating the two to really show hyperfocus. It’s not a technique I use often because I prefer some background blur, I actually prefer selective focus. I shoot a lot of “things” and not so many “places” but it was good practice. 

Leave a Reply

